What is the difference between an Exclusive lock and a non-exclusive lock?
An exclusive lock is used when changing the contents of a file or editing item properties. Exclusively locking an item prevents others from creating new revisions of it before the lock has been released. If an item is exclusively locked by someone else, you can review its properties but cannot change them. Normally the words "Read Only" and the name of the user who has locked the item will appear on the title bar.
A non-exclusive lock is a lock that notifies others that you are
considering changing the file. When you have a file locked
non-exclusively, others can modify the file. With text files, it is
not unusual for several people to modify a file in parallel and
subsequently rely on file merging to manage conflicting
A file can both be exclusively and non-exclusively locked at the same time.