How do I restore a deleted Change Request or group of Change Requests?

0 Likes

Problem:

How do I restore a deleted Change Request or group of Change Requests?

Resolution:


  • Product Name: StarTeam
  • Product Version: 2008
  • Product Component: Cross Platform Client
  • Platform/OS Version: All Supported OS


In order to restore CRs that have been deleted, it is necessary to roll back the server configuration to a date before the CRs were deleted.
If the exact date and time the CRs were deleted is known, pick that time minus a few minutes. This will recover them as close to their original state as possible.

  1. Open the project view that originally contained the CRs.
  2. From the menu, View --> Select Configuration.
  3. Select the "Configuration as of" date and time.
  4. This will display the view as it existed on that date and time.
  5. Use the Open Project dialog to open the tip configuration of that view in the same client session.
  6. Use Window --> Tile Horizontally or Vertically, depending on your preference.
  7. If necessary, recreate the folder in the tip configuration. A temporary folder can also be used.
  8. Locate the CRs to restore in the AS Of configuration.
  9. Hightlight the CRs.
  10. Hold down CTRL and drag the CRs with your mouse to the tip configuration"s target folder.
  11. Answer Yes to the "Share item?" prompt.
  12. The CRs will share into that folder.
  13. In the tip configuration, locate and highlight all the CRs that were shared.
  14. Right-click and select Advanced --> Behavior.
  15. On the Modify tab, check the box for Branch on change.
  16. Answer yes to the double-dare prompt about changing the behavior.

Now the CRs exist in their original location and they will branch once edited. If branch on change is not selected, then the CRs will exist in a read-only state since the source configuration is set to read-only.

The only issues that might crop up from this process are that the branching of the CRs will change. If a CR was originally revision 1.2, once it branches in the tip configuration, it will go to 1.2.1.0. This normally doesn"t create a problem but it is something to be aware of. Also, if any users attached labels or links to the CR between the time of the configuration rollback and the item deletion, those will be lost. That is why it is very important to make sure the configuration is rolled back to as close to the deletion time as possible.


Old KB# 28816
Comment List
Related
Recommended