Created On:  01 December 2010

Problem:

The Context Limits tab appears when editing a WorkFlow step. How can this be used to limit the project or views that will be listed in a user selection?

Resolution:

When editing a WorkFlow step, do the following
  1. Select the Context Limits tab
  2. Uncheck "Use global workflow context limits for this step"
  3. From the Context Tree view, select the project or view to limit the associated users
  4. Click ADD
  5. From the drop-down list, select the Property for which you want to limit the list of available users
  6. Click OK
  7. Select the same user selection field under Property on the Context Limits tab of the Edit Step dialog
  8. Click "Add Users" to select the user(s). Use the Ctrl or Shift key to make multiple selections.

    Alternatively use "Add Groups" to select the group(s) of users. Use the Ctrl or Shift key to selection multiple groups.
    Clicking the All Users button will remove all previous selections and list all the users associated with the selected project or view in the user selection field.
    Optionally, click "Add References" to select the user selection field(s) for which you want the same list of available users. Use the Ctrl or Shift key to make multiple selections.
  9. Select "Use global workflow context limits for this step" to set the same user selections for every step in the workflow.
    User selections are automatically set globally on the Context Limits tab of the Workflow Properties dialog.
  10. Click OK
  11. Save the workflow

Additional documentation on the WorkFlow Design for Star Team Server 2008 R2 is available at WorkFlow Designer Star Team Server 2008 R2
Incident #2432842