Created On:  27 September 2010

Problem:

If the server option 'purged audit entries older than x days' is enabled and the server restarts, is it possible to recover audit data before a full server purge has completed?

Resolution:

Purged Audit data can not be recovered after a server restart. The Audit data is deleted during the process for starting the server and not as part of a purge.

Once the server has been restarted the Audit data has already been deleted and can only be recovered via a restore of a previous backup.