What is the difference between Inactivity and Reconnect Timeout?
What is the difference between the Server settings: Inactivity Timeout and Reconnect Timeout Can one interfere with the other?
The Inactivity Timeout and Reconnect Timeout settings are independent of each other.
Inactivity Timout is how long a client connection has remained open and unused, unused meaning the server hasn"t received any requests from a particular machine in X minutes. The timeout setting will cause the server to automatically close the connection and release the Concurrent License. NOTE: there is an option for Named Users to ignore this timeout setting.
Reconnect Timeout is a setting that aids with random network glitches or client machine crashes. If a connection is lost or abnormally terminated, the starteam server will give that client X amount of time to log back in. You will see "connection lost" messages in the server log when this happens.
Please review the Using and Administering StarTeam Guide for more details on these settings.
Author: Daniel Rice