deleting an old cost rule

We have a few cost rules that are no longer used.  How can we determine if it is "safe" to delete them?  We want to delete them just to keep our environment 'clean'.  Is it worth the risk?  Have others deleted cost rules that have an end date and is there no detrimental ramifications?

thank you