smartconnector for Active directory: questions

Hello everyone,

I have a question about integrating an active directory. in the configuration steps of SM wind unified, there is a step to configure parameters of domain controller. I am new in Arcsight I don't know what is the difference between domain user and active directory user? and what is parameters that we should enter to integrate a domain controller?

Best Regards.

• Hi

First things first, if possible, avoid at all costs the Windows Unified Connector (WUC)- it is not updated regularly and relies on old SMB Protocols that Microsoft may block at any point (previously used in Wannacry / NotPetya etc). Also avoid the Windows Native SmartConnector for Linux (WISC) - it just doesnt work for production loads.

Use the Windows Native Connector, installed on a Windows Server (can be virtual or containerised).

You need to add the details of an AD / Domain user account that has "builtin\Event Log Readers" permission on the domain / domain controllers - this can be set within Group Policies.
    As per the config guide:

"If the hosts Domain parameters are the same as Active Directory, then you do not have to enter both. The information will be taken from the Active Directory Domain and credentials."

So in most instances, you will just set the parameters in the Active Directory section (ignore the Domain Section)

• Hello  ,

thank you for your reply and details this is so helpful.

if I understand the WISC is better than WUC because this one is used old protocols that are no longer supported. so why WISC doesn't work for linux what you mean by production loads?

for your second answer for example I have a virtual machine that contain an Active directory domain controller for example "dc.test.local" the domain is "test.local" and in this machine I have a user account "arcsight" and password "Test123" this user has the "builtin\Event Log Readers" permission on the domain controller.