An even easier way to call a Job from policy

0 Likes
over 13 years ago
I was reading the article How to Start an IDM Job from a Policy and I really liked the idea.

I had not considered using the dxcmd Java classes to start a Job but thought it was a great idea. I decided I could use this in my toolkit rules, but I wanted to improve upon it.

The biggest problem that the author left in the rule is that he hard coded the username and password for the user to login with. Obviously there are better ways to do it that are more secure, and satisfy one of my major issues, which is that I am lazy. As I go from site to site I do not want to have to type in passwords for this rule. That is way too much work. Heck, I don't want to have to type ANYTHING, other than just importing this rule into a driver somewhere. Lets see if that is possible.

The traditional way would probably be to use a Named password which is how the Authentication, Remote Loader, and Driver object passwords are stored encrypted in the driver configuration. There is a token to retrieve Named Passwords and you would set a local variable, say called PASSWORD and set it to the Named Password.

Again, that is fine and much more secure, but still requires me to enter a password for each installation of this rule. Does not satisfy the laziness quotient.

Instead I will use the trick I learned from Lothar Haeger from his truly excellent Password Notification driver (IDM 3.5 Password Notification Service Driver) for zero configuration authentication in policy. (PS: Lothar, that was a brilliant idea!).