Perform backup to tape and disk

Hi,

I'm pretty new in using Data Protector. I've "inherited" the environment from a retired colleague. At the moment we have two backup jobs which are running one after another. One on disk and the other on tape. Is it possible to configure only one job which do the backup on both at the same time?

The problem is that one full backup to both destinations take about 3 days and my intention is to reduce the network traffic. 

Regards,
Thiemo

• Backup to disk: do you mean a ZDB disk-only backup, or backup to one of the disk-based devices (file library, file jukebox, or StoreOnce/DDBoost)?

• We are using StoreOnce for the B2D.

• Hi Thiemo,

By "job" did you mean a DP Backup Schedule job?
    If each job is writing up to a different device, which is true in your case:
    Job 1: Writes to StoreOnce devices.
    Job 2: Writes to tape.
    And assuming there's no special prerequisites, like some backup must complete before the next one begins, then you can just run both jobs at the same time.

You can also actually combine both backups to a single job by simply merging both sets of devices (tape and StoreOnce) together. DP has no problem writing to both tape and StoreOnce simultaneously. It will decide what data to write to which device. But this is probably not what you want because the data will be scattered everywhere, and presumably the tape backups are meant to be stored remotely.

How much data are you backing up? 3 days is a long time for a single full backup. There may be data inconsistency problems between the time it starts and it completes.

Rgds,

Alex

• Hi Alex

By "job" did you mean a DP Backup Schedule job?

Yes. 

If each job is writing up to a different device, which is true in your case:
    Job 1: Writes to StoreOnce devices.
    Job 2: Writes to tape.
    And assuming there's no special prerequisites, like some backup must complete before the next one begins, then you can just run both jobs at the same time.