Satellite Server move question - ZENworks 2020.2

Hello All. I rolled out 2 successful satellite servers this year, however, one of my techs is moving to a new office, and wants his satellite server at his new office of course. So here is my question, since I am new to the satellite servers and the process, what do I have to do to move the server now? It will be on a new IP address range at the new site. The server is of course fully viewable and routable by the Master ZENworks server on the new IP range subnet at the new site once we have it there. I guess what I am wondering is, what is the right way to go about moving the satellite server since it will be at a new site on a new IP?  Do I mark it NOT as a satellite server now, then move the device, and mark it as a satellite server again?  Or is there a better process? Thank you for all your answers in advance.

• Okay, so I removed the imaging role, This was the only role on it, so it was automatically demoted from a satellite server to a Managed device. I made sure all replicated Imaging files were gone, they were. I removed the device from AD and from ZENworks. I then had the tech move the device (This is in process as we speak).  Once the device is at the site with the New IP, I will re-add to AD and ZEnworks as a managed device. I will then re-promote it to be a satellite imaging server. That should do the trick. Is this how other people would do it?

• Verified Answer

I would....Power Down the Sat Server.  Move it and Plug it in and turn it on.

If you were using it for "Content", "Authentication" or other roles.....You need to fix location rules so folks at the old location no longer use it.

But in that case....you would likely never move it in the first place.  You would just set up a new one if needed at a new location because the others would still need it.

--