Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Importing XMI / XML process diagram from Bizzdesign as Business Model in ALM

I have an export from Bizzdesign enterprise that was BPMN data converted to XMI. When I try to import the file into ALM as Business Process Model, it shows error message as File Format not supported.

I am new to this process and need to know:

i. If anyone has already exported Business Process Flows created in Bizzdesign to XML, which can be loaded into ALM as Business Model, what export file option did you choose in Bizzdesign to export the design.

ii. Can the file be directly loaded into ALM or any inetermediate processing is required so that ALM recognizes this file when imported as Business Model.

This needs to be resolved ASAP.

Any lead on this will help me a lot. I could not attach the file as it contains XML tag and Community portal is not allowing me to add this file as attachment (even with changed extension).

0 Likes
4 Replies
Highlighted
Honored Contributor.. Honored Contributor..
Honored Contributor..

Hi there,

I haven’t worked with AML files, however, XPDL files created in the Bizagi Process Modeler import with no problems. We have just moved to ALM/QC v12.60 (from v12.01) and the process works in both versions.

ALM supports the following model and file formats:

• BPMN 1.1 models exported to XPDL 2.0/2.1 files
  • BPMN 2.0 models exported to XPDL 2.2 files
  • EPC 7.1 models exported to AML files (.xml extension

The How to Work with Business Process Models document may also be useful. This can be located at https://admhelp.microfocus.com/alm/en/12.60/online_help/Content/UG/t_use_bpm.htm?Highlight=Business%20model

(Statements expressed here are mine alone, and do not reflect the opinions of my employer.)

0 Likes
Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

@Mark McNamara 

Thanks a lot for sharing valuable information Mark.