Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

QTP Webservices Response

Hi I'm relatively new to using QTP's webservices add-in and was wondering if anyone could provide an code example or point me to a website of what syntax to use to send data through a webservice? I have an example of how to pull data but not how to send. I basically have a table of results from an operation I'm trying to send through a webservice to our Dev Team. Thanks in advance!
0 Likes
2 Replies
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

I'm assuming you know the WebService NAme, URL, Port & Calling params whereby you can build your own, sort of DP for WebServices, here's a de-sensitized version of one of my calls:

' Define WebService URL
ws1 = "wsdl:=http://10.222.222.22:8080/testframeworkwebapp/services/STFLogExtractorService?WSDL"
' Define service & port
ws2 = "service:=GenericSQLExecutorService"
ws3 = "port:=STFSQLExecutionService"
' Define params
p1 = "cust.database"
p2 = "Select * From CUST Where CUST_ACC_NO = '92983847546'"
' Call to the WebService
executeSQLByDBName = WebService(ws1,ws2,ws3).executeStoredProcedureByName(p1,p2)

' Data is returned to executeSQLByDBName

Mark Smith.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I have one day of experience in using QTP with webservices -add-in.

With the information i browsed around, here is how I could send a request and capture the response.

1. Go to Object repository -Resources and click on the "Webservices add object wizard"

provide your WSDL file (webservice url)
exampl:-e http://abcdefg.asmx?WSDL

in the following steps, u will nedd to provide the service name and port name.

lets say the webservice object u created in OR is called "ABCDEFG_WSService"

2. In expert view, you can add call the webservice
WebService("ABCDEFG_WSService").IntellisenseWill ListyourWebservices(Param1, Param2, Param3...if any)

Example:
ResXML =WebService("Cudl3ForCudlConnect_WSService").GetEmplopyInformation(100)