Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
Rufeng Xu-Fried Honored Contributor.
Honored Contributor.

What protocols should I use for a client/server GUI application

Jump to solution
Hi, I have some experience with HTTP protocols in Vugen, but new to GUI applications.
The development team told that protocol they use is internet protocol. Which protocol I should choose in Vugen?
I tried IMAP, and Vugen recognizes thousands of events. The recording log is full of [Network Analyzer (151c: bdc)] (Sid: 19) Server -> Client : 24 bytes , but nothing is recorded in the scripts. Please advise. Thanks!
Rufeng
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: What protocols should I use for a client/server GUI application

Jump to solution
It looks like your development team didn't understand what you were asking them about, because the answer "internet protocol" doesn't make any sense. Tell them that you need to know the application layer protocol in the OSI model (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model) that the GUI client uses to talk to the server.

If still no luck with your developers, use VuGen Protocol Advisor to find out what protocol may fit your application. You can access it in VuGen through File->Protocol Advisor->Analyze Application.
11 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Jump to solution
It looks like your development team didn't understand what you were asking them about, because the answer "internet protocol" doesn't make any sense. Tell them that you need to know the application layer protocol in the OSI model (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model) that the GUI client uses to talk to the server.