Contributor.. Aneesh Salimkumar Contributor..
Contributor..

ArcSight ESM API for Getting the Query Viewer Data

Jump to solution

Hi, 

We are trying to establish some visualization (using a customized portal) utilizing the data inside ArcSight. We are looking to integrate using REST API calls to ArcSight ESM. We can successfully obtain event information using the API now.  We are trying to do the same with QueryViewer. 

However, I am not getting any luck with the response. 

I already went through this discussion and I am trying to test the QueryViewer service by GET URL mentioned in this discussion

https://community.softwaregrp.com/t5/ArcSight-User-Discussions/Understanding-ESM-API-documentation/td-p/1657890

And I am trying this URL with and obtained authtoken and the resource ID for a queryviewer. I am getting a 404 response. I tried with different resource IDs but the result is same. I am very new to the ESM API, Can any body guide me fix this problem

Hopefule get some help from @Marius2 

Best Regards,

Aneesh Salimkumar

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: ArcSight ESM API for Getting the Query Viewer Data

Jump to solution

Hello @Aneesh Salimkumar 

The issue mostly is that GET requests has some issues with encoding of the URL, while + usually remains a plus for example, ESM recognize it as the ASCII representation of space instead.

I use POST requests for all my calls whenever I can to ensure no further issues, so I would recommend doing the same!

Here is an earlier example that I posted:

import requests
import json

def get_query_viewer(authtoken, qvsresourceid):
    headers = {'accept': 'application/json'}
    url = 'https://ESM:8443/www/manager-service/rest/QueryViewerService/getMatrixData'
    payload = {
        "qvs.getMatrixData": {
            "qvs.authToken": authtoken,
            "qvs.resourceId": qvsresourceid,
        }
    }