parth.patel Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Arcsight topology for syslog collection and custom dashboards

Hi Guys,

I am new to the Arcsight and want to build a plugin for our product. Below are the high level requirements.

1. Collect syslogs from several machines (Windows and *Nix)

2. Forward data from all the machines to Centralize place, where I can parse and Index the data.

3. Build custom dashboards and Reports on indexed data.

I have planned a topology (attached  figure) but I am not sure about some of the things and need help on that.

I am planing to install Smart Connector on all the machines which I want to monitor. Connector will collect the syslogs (non-CEF) and forward them to Logger, which will eventually forwards logs to ESM.

I tried to collect data in CEF but lost some useful information from logs, so decided to collect syslogs as non-CEF source. Am I doing something wring here?

I am not sure about the roles and responsibilities of Logger and ESM and cant figure out If I need both of them or I can skip any of them. Any suggestions?

Also, Once I write some parsing logic, queries and create dashboards and reports, how can I bundle them as a separate plugin ? How can I install that plugin in new environment ?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Parth

0 Likes
3 Replies
Highlighted
pratikp Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Arcsight topology for syslog collection and custom dashboards

Hi Parth,

You no need to install smartconnector on the machines which you need to integrate in ArcSight. SmartConnectors are not like traditional agents which must be installed to capture required logs.

SmartConnectors works either Pull or Push mechanism to collect logs.

You can have dedicated machine (either windows or linux) which will work as Connector Server and you can install all smartconnectors on the same server.

1. For Windows, you have to install only 1 Windows Unified SmartConnector which you can configure to pull logs from all Windows Servers.