Super Contributor.. MickyM Super Contributor..
Super Contributor..

Assistance with new Logger implementation

Hi

I'm a newbie to Logger and are implementing it for the first time, my experiance is mainly with the Ops Bridge and Network Management products. I have some basic architecural questions with Logger and integrations into OBA and other products.

We have set up Logger and bascially its receiving and processing raw syslog events from thousands of network devices, comprised of dozens of vendors. No connectors or CEF involved at the moment. We have found that when integerating into any other product, e.g OBA (opsa), OMi or NNMi the integrations do not work as Logger is not forwarding out events as CEF, only RAW format. I understood that using SmartConnectors was optional, but thought it was unncessary at that point in time.

In reading up on the documentation, I understand that we need to deploy SmartConnectors in between the device syslog and logger, to convert RAW syslog to CEF. Fair enough. However, what is mind boggling to me is that it seems SmartConnectors a vendor specific, so we need to deploy a SmartConnector per vendor e.g. Cisco IOS smart connector. The network large contains dozens of different vendors all sending syslog. So my questions are:

Do we need a SmartConnector per vendor to achieve this? I am assuming that means each device type will need to have their syslog re-configured?

Aside from developing customised Connectors for unsupported vendors, is there a generic Connector that converts to CEF? I have seen the "SmartConnector for Raw Syslog Daemon" but it doesn't mention CEF format.

In a large network with dozens of device vendors and thousands of device, how is this achieve? Surely we don't need to go off and install/develop dozens of connectors and reconfigure thousands of devices.

Thanks for your assistance!

Mick

0 Likes
5 Replies
ABader Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Re: Assistance with new Logger implementation

Hi Mick,