Highlighted
baauji1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Can I aggregate on a field in Join rule?

Hi,

I need to create a join rule which checks for signatures in IDS and connections in firewall and triggers if connections in firewall cross a threshold. I have two event definitions in Conditions Tab and have applied Matching Condition between them. Will aggregating on the firewall logs based on identical source address work??

Also, I want IDS Signature to appear in the alert triggered. Is it possible? I read about a method by creating a velocity template variable. Can someone tell how to do this as I am a bit new to ArcSight.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
5 Replies
SCipriano Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Can I aggregate on a field in Join rule?

let's assume you call: IdsEvent and FwEvent.

Yes, you may aggregate by  IdsEvent.sourceAddress and  FwEvent.sourceAddress.

If you want to "save" some fields to be populated on the triggered alert then you should aggregate by that field and use the action "Set Event Filed Actions".

For instance. you want to save the Name of IDS event. if so aggregate by it and place a actions set the field with $IdsEvent.name

Was that it?

0 Likes
baauji1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I am not sure if it would work.

Consider I want a join rule to trigger in which I have IDS event and Firewall event. Now, the rule should trigger if there are events in IDS and 500 events of same source IP in Firewall. The threshold should be crossed then only I want the rule to be triggered. The problem I am facing here is when I set the threshold to 500, it will aggregate the firewall source address. If I add the IDS Name in aggregation, then it will wait for 500 events in IDS as well which is not what I am looking for. Correct me if I am wrong anywhere !!

0 Likes
baauji1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I am attaching the screenshots of my rule and aggregation Tab. That might give you more clarity of what I need in the rule!

pic1.JPGpic2.JPG

0 Likes