Highlighted
Honored Contributor.
Honored Contributor.

Design Arcsight solution on Azure

Jump to solution

Hi,
I have to install a simple Log Management solution on Microsoft Azure tenant.
Below the data flow:
Log Server --> SmartConnector -->Logger

It's my first time on Azure and I'm not an expert about it.

These are my doubts about the availability of the ArcSight solution.

• Is it necessary to have a Smartconnector that continues to receive logs if the first smartconnector is down ?
  • Do I need a secondary logger that is able to collect logs when the first Logger is down ?
  • Does that make sense to put 2 Logger which is peered with other logger ?
  • Are the availability problems of Smartconnectors and Loggers still valid in the cloud environment ?

I would like to know, if there are some factors to keep in mind while design the solution
to ensure the availability of the ArcSight Log management platform.

Thanks,

Lg

Labels (5)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.

I think @dkuehner pointed it out perfectly.

I would think of Azure as just another environment, there is no real difference between having the solution in the cloud or on your own hosted environment, the only difference I feel is when you calculate risk (in terms of uptime etc, which is your current question or concern).

When calculating the risk and requirements of a hosted infrastructure, it is not uncommon to for example have a mirrored solution, in which you setup components like ESM in HA, or have two installations separated over multiple datacenters, but it all drills down to the requirements you have in terms of uptime.