Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Flex Token Count (ignoring tokens)

Hello,

I am new to Flex connectors and have a simple question.

I need to do a log file flex connector to read my cisco call manager logs.

The call manager writes the logs to some files with the same number of tokens on each line, all the time.

The question is: Each line has 94 comma separated tokens but I just need 4 of them (ex. Token 2, 8, 48 and 60).

Do I need to declare all tokens (1 to 94) and just map the ones I am interested or i could do something like this:

comments.start.with=#
delimiter=,
token.count=4
token[2].name=Time_of_the_event
token[2].type=TimeStamp
token[2].format=yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss
token[4].name=ClientIp
token[4].type=IPAddress
token[48].name=Method
token[48].type=String
token[60].name=URL
token[60].type=String

If this is not write, Does anyone know other way instead of writing a regex file flex connector or declaring all the tokens?

Thanks in advance

Labels (2)
0 Likes
8 Replies
Cadet 2nd Class Cadet 2nd Class
Cadet 2nd Class

You've got it almost right.  You need to tell the connector how many tokens there are in the line and then you can pick and choose which ones you want to actually use.

Change the following line:  token.count=4

To:  token.count=94

Also, keep in mind numbering starts at 0, so token[2] is actually the third field in a line.

0 Likes
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Would it not make more sense to use a regex expression to trim out the parts your interested in and then format the tokens something along the lines of:

regex=whatever you would need here

comments.start.with=#
token.count=4
token[0].name=Time_of_the_event
token[0].type=TimeStamp
token[0].format=yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss
token[1].name=ClientIp
token[1].type=IPAddress
token[2].name=Method
token[2].type=String
token[3].name=URL
token[3].type=String

This could be a lot more effecient memory wise since you won't be getting all 94 data elements, only the ones you want.

0 Likes
Absent Member.