Highlighted
gfuchs1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

How do you get X11 working on a manager?

I cannot use any of the GUI tools that come with arcsight (keytoolGUI, any of the setup utilities, etc.) because of X11 not working. I think it is an issue with the sshd_config file missing this line (X11UseLocalhost no), but wanted to verify this before opening a case with support. Thanks!

Labels (1)
0 Likes
11 Replies
AlexMuratov1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: How do you get X11 working on a manager?

It is not related to the ESM Manager. Could you provide more details?

0 Likes
balahasan.v1 Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.

Hi Gerald,

R u trying it in Manager linux base machine--> Install missing packages or R u trying to take ssh--> then u have X11 Configuration stuff. U need to enable them

0 Likes
gfuchs1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I have a system that I have never used X11 on before, and want to get it working over SSH. But I couldn't see anything in the documentation on how to do this. I searched google and looks like I need to change the sshd_config file, but I wanted to verify if this holds true for arcsight before I open up a case with support. Balahasan has shown below how to enable X11 forwarding with putty, but now I need assistance enabling X11 on the manager. Thanks!

0 Likes
rm2743 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Gerald,

Make sure you have the required X11 packages installed on the host.  Are you logging in as the user that you are trying to start the application as?  Try a simple X11 application like xclock and post back the errors you see, this will help us help you.

-Rick

0 Likes
gfuchs1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Here is the error that I receive:

[arcsight@[name]~]$ cd /opt/arcsight/manager/bin/

[arcsight@[name]bin]$ ./arcsight keytoolgui

Assuming ARCSIGHT_HOME: /opt/arcsight/manager

Assuming JAVA_HOME: /opt/arcsight/manager/jre

ArcSight Keytool GUI starting...