Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

How to make sure connector is getting log info from new linux systems?

Jump to solution

Hi everyone,

First of all, I'm new to ArcSight, so bare with me with my limited knowledge on this.

We have a connector that has both type windowsfg for Windows Servers, and type syslog for Linux servers.

So my understanding would be windowsfg will be collecting Windows Security Events, and syslog will be collecting the security logs for Linux servers.

For new Windows Servers, what need to be done is to add new servers on the table parameters.

So my question would be - what do i need to do to ensure new Linux systems are passing log info to ArcSight connector syslog?

Thanks,

Keo

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral

Hi Keo Fua,

For collecting logs from Windows Hosts, you use WUC SmartConnector which works in pull/push mode.

For collecting logs from Linux Hosts, you have to use Syslog Daemon Smartconnectors which works only in push mode thus as Evgeny said, you need to configure on each Linux device the syslog configuration to send the logs to the Syslog SmartConnector which works as a syslog daemon (it listen on a specific configured port).

If logs are critical, I advice you to use TCP Raw.

To check if the smartconnector is properly configured in TCP Raw, you may used the telnet command (with correct port) and write something then the text should be visible on the active channel launched on the SmartConnector.

Then to check the Linux device syslog configuration, you may use netstat and tcpdump to see if the logs are sent to the SmartConnector.

Do not hesitate to ask question, if it is not enough clear or if you meet any issue.

Thanks

Kind regards

Michael

View solution in original post

0 Likes
4 Replies
Highlighted
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral

You need config syslog daemon on every new linux system for send log to destination (with syslog connector) server.

0 Likes