MaryCordova Frequent Contributor.
Frequent Contributor.

Syslog FlexConnector Subagent works with Regex Helper but not on Connector

Jump to solution

Hi All,

I used the regex helper tool and wrote a syslog subagent.  Everything in my log file is parsing in the regex helper tool.  When I stick the file in ../current/user/agent/flexagent/syslog the connector picks up the parser but none of my regex matches and everything gets sent to the default subagent as an "Unparsed Event".

Any ideas???

(BTW...be nice, this is my first time.)

And, FYI, this is mostly an exercise in flex connector insanity, I am aware that there are other InfoBlox properties files already here on Protect.  I'm really looking to learn how to do this myself for any given situation not specifically for an InfoBlox configuration.  Originally we thought we wanted to custom parse InfoBlox but then we decided that InfoBlox is just regular BIND and to treat it as such which eliminates the need for custom parsing.  Additionally...I have a printed, highlighted, dog-eared copy of the developers guide...please don't tell me to read it...unless of course there is a specific section that it is clear I haven't read or I wouldn't be asking this question

Labels (3)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Acclaimed Contributor.. Shaun Acclaimed Contributor..
Acclaimed Contributor..

Re: Syslog FlexConnector Subagent works with Regex Helper but not on Connector

Jump to solution

Wonder if its something around the newline (\n) character at the end of your logs.

Maybe modify the parser so that after your last matching group you just use .* rather than \\\\n and see if it makes any difference.

0 Likes
11 Replies
Frequent Contributor.

Jump to solution

sanitized screenshot...sanitized logs also uploaded...

regex.PNG

0 Likes
Knowledge Partner Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Jump to solution

Hi Mary,

I found two things wich helped me:

YouTube channel of the below guy - very nice!

Shane Lilley - YouTube