Highlighted
Established Member.. raymond.doty
Established Member..

Network Model / Asset Management where you have varying hostname formats?

Hello!

I am a bit new to the asset model of ArcSight and trying to figure out the capability of managing a number of devices that I haven't figure out how to track properly...

The main issue is that our logs come from varying devices and come in different formats.  The specific item of interest is the hostname field...  We will get the same asset in multiple formats...

Example hostnames for below:

FQDN = hostname.domain.contoso.com

Short Hostname = hostname

1) Network logs - sometimes FQDN, always IP Address

2) Windows logs - mostly FQDN, sometimes Short Hostname, sometimes IP Address

3) AV events - always FQDN, never IP address

From what I understand most of our user networks (IP subnets, not ArcSight network) are dynamic, most server networks are static.

We theoretically care 'most' about asset modeling of our server networks (mostly static).

This has created a couple problems I am not sure I see a way around.

1) If the zone the assets are created in is static (so that it can see hostname), we cannot have two assets with the same IP address (imagine short hostname and fqdn) but different hostnames (+network and +partial windows logs, -partial windows logs and -AV logs)

2) If the zone is dynamic, we can create two assets with different hostnames (short and fqdn) - but it theoretically wont be able to see IP addresses being dynamic  (+windows and AV logs, -Network logs where IP only)

Has anyone come to a conclusion/solution to this?  It seems whatever route we go, we may end up needing duplicate assets...

Labels (1)
0 Likes
4 Replies
Established Member..

Re: Network Model / Asset Management where you have varying hostname formats?

Well I figured out where we have an IP address, with two formats...

If ip is static: