Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.. Acclaimed Contributor..
Acclaimed Contributor..

Database discovery

Experts,

I am starting with the discovery of a particular Datacenter. I have given a list of Dev and Test Database servers and need to test the  the connectivity.

I have created a report of all these database servers Node and IP addresses. Now when I run the Management Zone > Activity as > Database Choosing Run Oracle Discovery after selecting the right probe as well as selected the IP range, I am not finding any particular result.

I am new to uCMDB and need some help in starting with the discovery process. What should I check here first and then how do I proceed further.

My end goal is to develop and Application to Database dependency Map.

Please guide.

Thank you
dev.

P.S. This thread has been moved from Application Perf Mgmt (BAC / BSM) Support and News Forum to CMS and Discovery Support and News Forum. - Hp forum Moderator

I am Listening..
0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Database discovery

Hi,

Try to look into the active/passive network connection discoveries.

Those should create client-server dependencies, that will present your DB servers and their connected apps, during the time of the discovery.

Asi.
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.. Acclaimed Contributor..
Acclaimed Contributor..

Re: Database discovery

Thank you for the reply Asi.

As I am new to discovery tool, am trying my best to learn from forums and KA's.

IF I want to develop a TQL to create the dependency map, what are the CI types which I should be using.

The end goal for me is to give  the team, a view which contains the

Tier 2 (Application layer) and the Tier 3 ( DB layer) ..

I am Listening..
0 Likes