Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.. Acclaimed Contributor..
Acclaimed Contributor..

Datacenter DATABASE discovery

Experts,

I am starting with the discovery of a particular Datacenter. I have given a list of Dev and Test Database servers and need to test the  the connectivity.

I have created a report of all these database servers Node and IP addresses. Now when I run the Management Zone > Activity as > Database Choosing Run Oracle Discovery after selecting the right probe as well as selected the IP range, I am not finding any particular result.

I am new to uCMDB and need some help in starting with the discovery process. What should I check here first and then how do I proceed further.

My end goal is to develop and Application to Database dependency Map.

Please guide.

Thank you

dev.

I am Listening..
0 Likes
6 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.. Absent Member..
Absent Member..

Re: Datacenter DATABASE discovery

Hi,

Can You confirm, If you have ran the pre-requisite Jobs like IP Address discovery, TCP Ports and Host Discovery for the test servers you wanted to run the Database Job?

Regards

Ashok

0 Likes
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor..

Hi Ashok,

Yes, Below is what I have done so far

Added the IP Addresses into the probe ranges
Ran the Range Ips by ICMP.
Ran the Host resources by WMI / Shell
Ran the Host resources and Application by WMI / Shell.

Thank you

dev

I am Listening..
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member..

Hi,

Have you discovered the Host and also did you ran the Database TCP Ports job and discovered the Ports corresponding to your Databases?

Regards

Ashok

0 Likes
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor..

Yes,  I have done this. The sequence which I followed in discovery is below

Range IP by ICMP.

Host Connection

Host Resources & Application

For Oracle / MSSQL, I followed

Database TCP ports

SQL Server connection by SQL

MSSQL Topology by SQL.