Highlighted
Respected Contributor.
Respected Contributor.

Discovery of servers by HP uCMDB

Hello All,

I am new to HP uCMDB, although I have understood the architecture and deployment with the help of this forum.

Now my next step as of now is to understand the configuration of discovery jobs for discovering the infrastructure resources. The servers will be discovered using WMI protocol for which I already have admin rights for domain, username and password.

Can anyone please suggest how to configure the  jobs for discovering servers through WMI. Later, by this reference I can learn about configuring jobs for network elements, middlwares, databases and applications.

I have already started learning about OOTB adapters.

Thanks in Advance!!!

0 Likes
13 Replies
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Discovery of servers by HP uCMDB

What would be your weapon of choice (UCMDB version and even more important, the CP version)?
Normally you will do the following flow:

• Range IPs by ICMP (if allowed)
  • Host Connection by WMI
  • Host Applications/Resources by WMI

What data do you want to retrieve?

Kind regards,
Bogdan Mureșan

EMEA Technical Success
0 Likes
Highlighted
Respected Contributor.
Respected Contributor.

Hi Bogdan,

Thanks for the revert!!!

Regarding the server discovery I was going through data flow management guide ,I want to understand if I create a new module for the server discovery in data flow management and I have Windows and Linux based servers in my infrastructure.

1. Do I need to create 2 separate jobs for Windows - WMI and Linux - SSH discovery

2. While creating a new job in a module, how can I create the new job:

>> Which adapter should I select

>> Other than port, IP range, credentials do I need provide something else an input

Thanks in Advance!!!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Acclaimed Contributor.
Acclaimed Contributor.