cyberfarer Absent Member.
Absent Member.
1883 views

Complete Newbie Question

I have Zenworks 11 up and running and I am trying to create and push out bundles. No issue with MSIs nor single setup.exe files.

The problem comes with multiple install files and directories. So, I want to copy an install directory to the target and launch the installer.

It seems I just can't copy the directory. I have attempted with both logged in user and system user.

I can see the temp folder being created but the files are never transferred and the bundle install reports failed. Any ideas would be appreciated. I am trying to install on Win7 Pro.

Thanks.
Labels (2)
0 Likes
7 Replies
vastap Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Complete Newbie Question

This has happened to me before when there have been inexplicable server issues... I changed Copy Directory to Install Directory and that worked.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: Complete Newbie Question

The first question is are you using "Copy Directory" or "Install Directory"

These are two very different things.

"Copy Directory" does a standard Windows Copy, normally from a UNC Path.
"Install Directory" will bring the files down via HTTP from the Content
Repo.


For "Copy Directory", Normally only "Logged on User" would have access
to any network resource. Careful about other impersonation options.

For "Install Directory", you may need to wait for the content to
replicate to another server. Make sure any satellite servers are told
to include the content if necessary.


On 3/14/2011 10:36 AM, cyberfarer wrote:
>
> I have Zenworks 11 up and running and I am trying to create and push out
> bundles. No issue with MSIs nor single setup.exe files.
>
> The problem comes with multiple install files and directories. So, I
> want to copy an install directory to the target and launch the
> installer.
>
> It seems I just can't copy the directory. I have attempted with both
> logged in user and system user.
>
> I can see the temp folder being created but the files are never
> transferred and the bundle install reports failed. Any ideas would be
> appreciated. I am trying to install on Win7 Pro.
>
> Thanks.
>
>



--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.
--
Please give a hearty thumbs up to any post you find helpful!
To find articles by Craig Wilson simply follow the link: Craig Wilson's Tips!
0 Likes
cyberfarer Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Complete Newbie Question

Thank you for the reply.

I have attempted both with the same results.

For "Copy Directory", I attempted with the "Logged on user" who has access to read the content of the source folder at a UNC path, and for "Install Directory" I attempted with both the 'Logged on user" and the "System user". In both cases it fails.

I only have one server as it is a brand spanking new install using the appliance version.

Would you be able to direct me to the relevant log file to check for errors?

Again, thank you for the reply.

Sean.

craig_wilson;2085493 wrote:
The first question is are you using "Copy Directory" or "Install Directory"

These are two very different things.

"Copy Directory" does a standard Windows Copy, normally from a UNC Path.
"Install Directory" will bring the files down via HTTP from the Content
Repo.


For "Copy Directory", Normally only "Logged on User" would have access
to any network resource. Careful about other impersonation options.

For "Install Directory", you may need to wait for the content to
replicate to another server. Make sure any satellite servers are told
to include the content if necessary.


On 3/14/2011 10:36 AM, cyberfarer wrote:
>
> I have Zenworks 11 up and running and I am trying to create and push out
> bundles. No issue with MSIs nor single setup.exe files.
>
> The problem comes with multiple install files and directories. So, I
> want to copy an install directory to the target and launch the
> installer.
>
> It seems I just can't copy the directory. I have attempted with both
> logged in user and system user.
>
> I can see the temp folder being created but the files are never
> transferred and the bundle install reports failed. Any ideas would be
> appreciated. I am trying to install on Win7 Pro.
>
> Thanks.
>
>



--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.
0 Likes
shaunpond Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Complete Newbie Question

Cyberfarer,

> Would you be able to direct me to the relevant log file to check for
> errors?
>

zmd-messages.log on the workstation - make sure it's set to debug level

--

Shaun Pond


0 Likes
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: Complete Newbie Question

When making changes to a Bundle, be sure to change the Version Number
and refresh the device to make sure it sees the current Version Number.

If you do not do this, you may not be testing what you think you are
testing 😆



On 3/14/2011 2:57 PM, Shaun Pond wrote:
> Cyberfarer,
>
>> Would you be able to direct me to the relevant log file to check for
>> errors?
>>

> zmd-messages.log on the workstation - make sure it's set to debug level
>



--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.
--
Please give a hearty thumbs up to any post you find helpful!
To find articles by Craig Wilson simply follow the link: Craig Wilson's Tips!
0 Likes
shaunpond Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Complete Newbie Question

Craig,

good thought - as is "this forum is for Software Package Management,
i.e., AdminStudio; perhaps this thread would be better directed at the
bundles forum for your version of ZCM?"

--

Shaun Pond


0 Likes
cyberfarer Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Complete Newbie Question

Fair enough. I thought I was in the right place. In any case we solved the problem by creating an "Empty Bundle" rather than using a template.
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.