Techlord Absent Member.
Absent Member.
1116 views

DLU and Volitile users

I have seen many people talk about DLU here and some of the issues that can occur with it, but I have an issue that has possibly arose that is causing me pain. I have an off campus school that we have set up Zenworks 11 at, it is running well in general, but *I think* I have an issue with DLU. When the user logs in, his/her DLU is created, and all is well...however, sometime it seems that the user is left behind even when volitile user is selected, to make matters worse....it seems that the user can log into work station only with the DLU user that is created, after they log out...I don't want them doing this, I want them to HAVE to authenticate to the network period...I do have workstaiton policy...but I guess thats not the point...to me this seems like a security hole...has anyone else experianced this?

Thanks,
Labels (2)
0 Likes
1 Reply
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: DLU and Volitile users

The account will not always be removed, especially if they just power
off or cancel the logout in some fashion.

In the DLU policy, you can specify "Use the Credentials Specified Below"
and "DO NOT" select the "Use User Source PWD".

This will create the local account with a Random password.
The user will not be able to log back in w/o going through the DLU policy.

Alternately, I believe there are some Client32 settings that require
authentication there.

On 4/15/2011 11:06 AM, Techlord wrote:
>
> I have seen many people talk about DLU here and some of the issues that
> can occur with it, but I have an issue that has possibly arose that is
> causing me pain. I have an off campus school that we have set up
> Zenworks 11 at, it is running well in general, but *I think* I have an
> issue with DLU. When the user logs in, his/her DLU is created, and all
> is well...however, sometime it seems that the user is left behind even
> when volitile user is selected, to make matters worse....it seems that
> the user can log into work station only with the DLU user that is
> created, after they log out...I don't want them doing this, I want them
> to HAVE to authenticate to the network period...I do have workstaiton
> policy...but I guess thats not the point...to me this seems like a
> security hole...has anyone else experianced this?
>
> Thanks,
>
>



--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.