Ibz Absent Member.
Absent Member.

How to deny a user a particular application?

Hi,

How can I deny a user from seeing a particular application. Something like the deny permission in windows. The user is part of a bigger group, and so the application, is part of a bigger bundle. I would like the user to access all application in the bundle apart from one. I am new to this, I hope I am making sense 🙂

Thanks in advance.
Labels (1)
0 Likes
8 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: How to deny a user a particular application?

#1 - Browse to and then open the User in the ZCC.
#2 - Select Relationships and select "All" under assigned bundles.
#3 - Select the designated bundle and select block.
0 Likes
Ibz Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Hi Craig and thank you for your help.

I do not seem to find any user, neither by search or browse. Not sure why. Do you think I do not have the right permissions, or, users are configured in a different way? I can see devices’ names, and security groups, but no users.
From what I can see, it syncs with AD just fine, but no users 

Ibz
0 Likes
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Assignments can be made via User or Device.
ZCM may not be configured to do assignments via Users...Device only.
You can block via a device object as well so the user's device does not get the object.

--

Let's make this REALLY difficult now.

You have a Shared Computer Called "PC1" that SmartOne and DumbOne use.
The Bundles are assigned to the Devices and not the Users.
You have an Application called "Scissors" that you feel SmartOne can use Safely but are scared to let DumbOne use.

So even though "Scissors" is assigned to the PC, you want to make sure it is only available when "SmartOne" is logged on.
In this case "Blocking" the assignment will not work because it is not user assigned.

In this case, you could try configuring some type of System Requirement that would only pass if the "SmartOne" was logged on.