Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.
692 views

Mis-registered system or lost?

I have a user with a laptop AB12345, which is in a remote location but joined
to our domain. These systems use our external-facing (DMZ) Zenworks 11.2.4
server "over the internet", but also the user can connect via VPN which then
automatically will switch to one of two primary servers on the LAN.

The user's system has the 11.2.0 agent still, though we are starting to deploy
11.2.4 to the desktops more broadly.

The agent properties from the laptop show the system as AB12345 and "managed".
The user has a NAL window that appears to show appropriate user- and
system-associated apps, and that appears to function properly.

But ... I cannot find the system in ZCC. Checking from the user side in ZCC,
the user is only shown as associated with their prior system, which was
re-purposed a year ago. I've even searched for just "12345" and it doesn't
come up under devices. Using an advanced search based on the device IP
address, or containing the numeric part of the asset tag, or the login name as
the user who is currently logged in, turns up nothing.

I'd think that perhaps the system wasn't registered, were it not for it showing
"Managed" and the correct system name, in the agent properties.

I can't figure out how the system cannot be showing in ZCC, or if it somehow is
registered to a different system tag ... and if so, how to find it and fix the
issue. If the agent properties are correct then the system should presumably
be showing up with the asset name I have for it.

Any suggestions for how to find the system or fix the issue?

Thanks.

-- DE
Labels (2)
0 Likes
16 Replies
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

DE wrote:

> I have a user with a laptop AB12345, which is in a remote location
> but joined to our domain. These systems use our external-facing
> (DMZ) Zenworks 11.2.4 server "over the internet", but also the user
> can connect via VPN which then automatically will switch to one of
> two primary servers on the LAN.
>
> The user's system has the 11.2.0 agent still, though we are starting
> to deploy 11.2.4 to the desktops more broadly.
>
> The agent properties from the laptop show the system as AB12345 and
> "managed". The user has a NAL window that appears to show
> appropriate user- and system-associated apps, and that appears to
> function properly.
>
> But ... I cannot find the system in ZCC. Checking from the user side
> in ZCC, the user is only shown as associated with their prior system,
> which was re-purposed a year ago. I've even searched for just
> "12345" and it doesn't come up under devices. Using an advanced
> search based on the device IP address, or containing the numeric part
> of the asset tag, or the login name as the user who is currently
> logged in, turns up nothing.
>
> I'd think that perhaps the system wasn't registered, were it not for
> it showing "Managed" and the correct system name, in the agent
> properties.
>
> I can't figure out how the system cannot be showing in ZCC, or if it
> somehow is registered to a different system tag ... and if so, how to
> find it and fix the issue. If the agent properties are correct then
> the system should presumably be showing up with the asset name I have
> for it.
>
> Any suggestions for how to find the system or fix the issue?
>
> Thanks.
>
> -- DE


Sounds like the device has not been in contact with the zone for a
loooong time. But the cache tells it that it's managed, that's why you
see that in the device properties.
Are you able to re-register the device to the zone?
If you run a "zac unr", what does it tell you?

--
Niels
I have always liked... Cowabunga!

If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking
on the star below.
A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

Niels Poulsen wrote:

> Sounds like the device has not been in contact with the zone for a
> loooong time. But the cache tells it that it's managed, that's why you
> see that in the device properties.
> Are you able to re-register the device to the zone?
> If you run a "zac unr", what does it tell you?
>

May be right, though that should not be the case. It turns out that this has
been seen before, in this environment, with laptops taken off site that connect
via VPN. Oddly, they log in to the Zenworks server just fine (once the VPN
connection is established, they switch to the "inside" servers transparently)
but apparently they're not in contact with the zone in some very specific way
that keeps them "live" in ZCC.

I just ran into another system where doing the unr and then reg was enough to
make the system seen in ZCC again, but I guess for a user system like a laptop,
I should follow that by refreshing the cache as well.

I can't help but be curious as to what would happen if I "discovered" the
laptop again, too.

Thanks.

-- DE
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

DE wrote:

> Niels Poulsen wrote:
>
> > Sounds like the device has not been in contact with the zone for a
> > loooong time. But the cache tells it that it's managed, that's why
> > you see that in the device properties.
> > Are you able to re-register the device to the zone?
> > If you run a "zac unr", what does it tell you?
> >

> May be right, though that should not be the case. It turns out that
> this has been seen before, in this environment, with laptops taken
> off site that connect via VPN. Oddly, they log in to the Zenworks
> server just fine (once the VPN connection is established, they switch
> to the "inside" servers transparently) but apparently they're not in
> contact with the zone in some very specific way that keeps them
> "live" in ZCC.
>
> I just ran into another system where doing the unr and then reg was
> enough to make the system seen in ZCC again, but I guess for a user
> system like a laptop, I should follow that by refreshing the cache as
> well.
>
> I can't help but be curious as to what would happen if I "discovered"
> the laptop again, too.
>
> Thanks.
>
> -- DE


Did the last refresh status, of the device, also change in the zcc? Or
just last contact?

--
Niels
I have always liked... Cowabunga!

If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking
on the star below.
A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

I don't know about the 11.2x agent but I can say that the 11.2.3a agent had
serious cache corruption issues. I have also experienced the "user is only
shown as associated with their prior system" from a repurposed computer. In
my case it would be caused by the tech forgetting to do zisedit -r before
re imaging to get rid of the image safe info. You may want to try when re
registering the laptop after a unr to add the -g option to force a new guid
being generated. zac reg -g "your server". This for me fixes the incorrect
user info associations. I made the jump from 11.2.3x to 11.3.2. huge amount
of fixes to the agent and unfortunately a new one introduced. Slow login
from a log off / log on situation. so I 'm waiting for fru1 to release
before rolling out.

"DE" wrote in message
news:3_IJw.4956$Yv2.3333@novprvlin0913.provo.novell.com...

I have a user with a laptop AB12345, which is in a remote location but
joined
to our domain. These systems use our external-facing (DMZ) Zenworks 11.2.4
server "over the internet", but also the user can connect via VPN which then
automatically will switch to one of two primary servers on the LAN.

The user's system has the 11.2.0 agent still, though we are starting to
deploy
11.2.4 to the desktops more broadly.

The agent properties from the laptop show the system as AB12345 and
"managed".
The user has a NAL window that appears to show appropriate user- and
system-associated apps, and that appears to function properly.

But ... I cannot find the system in ZCC. Checking from the user side in
ZCC,
the user is only shown as associated with their prior system, which was
re-purposed a year ago. I've even searched for just "12345" and it doesn't
come up under devices. Using an advanced search based on the device IP
address, or containing the numeric part of the asset tag, or the login name
as
the user who is currently logged in, turns up nothing.

I'd think that perhaps the system wasn't registered, were it not for it
showing
"Managed" and the correct system name, in the agent properties.

I can't figure out how the system cannot be showing in ZCC, or if it somehow
is
registered to a different system tag ... and if so, how to find it and fix
the
issue. If the agent properties are correct then the system should
presumably
be showing up with the asset name I have for it.

Any suggestions for how to find the system or fix the issue?

Thanks.

-- DE

0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

Thanks. The laptop in question still has the 11.2.0 agent -- we're in the
process of upgrading to 11.2.4 on the devices.

The 11.2.3a agent -- which we tested on about 60 systems before giving up on it
-- seemed to have a LOT of issues. The issues with bundles were substantial
enough that we skipped the upgrade.

With the way the system is set up -- connected in via VPN -- I'm not sure what
has caused the problem, but I will be trying un-reg/reg first. It's just, I've
never seen a situation like this where the system says it's managed & shows all
the correct info, but can't be found in ZCC.

I wouldn't have been so perplexed if the agent on the laptop had reported
"unmanaged" ...

-- DE



CCPS wrote:
> I don't know about the 11.2x agent but I can say that the 11.2.3a agent
> had serious cache corruption issues. I have also experienced the "user
> is only shown as associated with their prior system" from a repurposed
> computer. In my case it would be caused by the tech forgetting to do
> zisedit -r before re imaging to get rid of the image safe info. You may
> want to try when re registering the laptop after a unr to add the -g
> option to force a new guid being generated. zac reg -g "your server".
> This for me fixes the incorrect user info associations. I made the jump
> from 11.2.3x to 11.3.2. huge amount of fixes to the agent and
> unfortunately a new one introduced. Slow login from a log off / log on
> situation. so I 'm waiting for fru1 to release before rolling out.

0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

DE wrote:

> I wouldn't have been so perplexed if the agent on the laptop had
> reported "unmanaged" ...



So the client does not change state if you run a zac cc?

--
Niels
I have always liked... Cowabunga!

If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking
on the star below.
A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

Niels Poulsen wrote:
> DE wrote:
>
>> I wouldn't have been so perplexed if the agent on the laptop had
>> reported "unmanaged" ...

>
>
> So the client does not change state if you run a zac cc?
>

I didn't try a ZAC CC because, well, if there was a communication problem, then
it wouldn't have the cached data after doing so, and might aggravate the
situation for the user.
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

DE wrote:

> Niels Poulsen wrote:
> > DE wrote:
> >
> > > I wouldn't have been so perplexed if the agent on the laptop had
> > > reported "unmanaged" ...

> >
> >
> > So the client does not change state if you run a zac cc?
> >

> I didn't try a ZAC CC because, well, if there was a communication
> problem, then it wouldn't have the cached data after doing so, and
> might aggravate the situation for the user.


Yes, but if you clear the cache you could see if it had lost (which it
looks like it has), its trust.

--
Niels
I have always liked... Cowabunga!

If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking
on the star below.
A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

Niels Poulsen wrote:
> DE wrote:
>
>> Niels Poulsen wrote:
>>> DE wrote:
>>>
>>>> I wouldn't have been so perplexed if the agent on the laptop had
>>>> reported "unmanaged" ...
>>>
>>> So the client does not change state if you run a zac cc?
>>>

>> I didn't try a ZAC CC because, well, if there was a communication
>> problem, then it wouldn't have the cached data after doing so, and
>> might aggravate the situation for the user.

>
> Yes, but if you clear the cache you could see if it had lost (which it
> looks like it has), its trust.
>

Is true, but sometimes troubleshooting has to yield to practicality.

In any case: the actual issue resolves easily enough with unreg/reg at the
workstation. (It is tricky only in that the unavailable system has to be
remote controlled in some other way.)

And I seem to have found the cause: some of our VPN users have a proxy setup
so that they can browse the internet while connected. If there are no
exceptions entered, all traffic goes through the proxy. And while it allows
access to all servers, it blocks some ports (types of traffic) which is unlike
in-office behavior.

So we are adding the company domains to the proxy server exceptions,
programmatically, so that all such users will send all company-domain traffic
directly to the server without any restrictions.

This change is allowing better interaction with the Zenworks servers -- e.g.
being able to refresh or inventory, as well as them checking in correctly --
and also is allowing some group policy processing that was previously a problem
because communications to the domain controllers were also similarly filtered
for certain types of traffic.

Overall, this has been a learning experience for me, because I hadn't realized
that some company-domain traffic was being affected by the proxy setup. But
when I found I could get to the Zenworks Reporting servers, but couldn't
actually run reports (only with VPN+proxy) we were able to pin down the cause.

Thanks for the help, all.

-- DE
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

DE wrote:

> Niels Poulsen wrote:
> > DE wrote:
> >
> > > Niels Poulsen wrote:
> > > > DE wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > I wouldn't have been so perplexed if the agent on the laptop
> > > > > had reported "unmanaged" ...
> > > >
> > > > So the client does not change state if you run a zac cc?
> > > >
> > > I didn't try a ZAC CC because, well, if there was a communication
> > > problem, then it wouldn't have the cached data after doing so, and
> > > might aggravate the situation for the user.

> >
> > Yes, but if you clear the cache you could see if it had lost (which
> > it looks like it has), its trust.
> >

> Is true, but sometimes troubleshooting has to yield to practicality.
>
> In any case: the actual issue resolves easily enough with unreg/reg
> at the workstation. (It is tricky only in that the unavailable
> system has to be remote controlled in some other way.)


Well, at least good to know you've tracked down the issue. And yes
pretty simple with a unr/reg, when you first get a remote session 😉



--
Niels
I have always liked... Cowabunga!

If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking
on the star below.
A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

Niels Poulsen wrote:
> DE wrote:

....
>> In any case: the actual issue resolves easily enough with unreg/reg
>> at the workstation. (It is tricky only in that the unavailable
>> system has to be remote controlled in some other way.)

>
> Well, at least good to know you've tracked down the issue. And yes
> pretty simple with a unr/reg, when you first get a remote session 😉


BTW, sorry for the late response,but I found we had this problem broadly with
remote systems that always connect in via VPN -- they never again check in with
the server. Found out that this is because firewall settings were blocking
needed ports. Fix that issue, unreg/re-reg the affected systems if needed, and
now they are far more "live" in Zenworks.

We fixed a bunch of other issues along the way, though it has been an argument
or three to get the ports open, despite it all being documented.

-- DE
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Mis-registered system or lost?

DE wrote:

> Niels Poulsen wrote:
> > DE wrote:

> ...
> > > In any case: the actual issue resolves easily enough with
> > > unreg/reg at the workstation. (It is tricky only in that the
> > > unavailable system has to be remote controlled in some other way.)

> >
> > Well, at least good to know you've tracked down the issue. And yes
> > pretty simple with a unr/reg, when you first get a remote session
> > 😉

>
> BTW, sorry for the late response,but I found we had this problem
> broadly with remote systems that always connect in via VPN -- they
> never again check in with the server. Found out that this is because
> firewall settings were blocking needed ports. Fix that issue,
> unreg/re-reg the affected systems if needed, and now they are far
> more "live" in Zenworks.
>
> We fixed a bunch of other issues along the way, though it has been an
> argument or three to get the ports open, despite it all being
> documented.
>
> -- DE


Thanks for sharing your info with us... and nice to hear you've fixed
more than just one issue down the road 😉

--
Niels
I have always liked... Cowabunga!

If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking
on the star below.
A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

ZISEDIT ?

CCPS wrote:
> I don't know about the 11.2x agent but I can say that the 11.2.3a agent
> had serious cache corruption issues. I have also experienced the "user
> is only shown as associated with their prior system" from a repurposed
> computer. In my case it would be caused by the tech forgetting to do
> zisedit -r before re imaging to get rid of the image safe info.


.... I thought I'd missed something here. We've been using ZISWIN; I don't
have an executable called ZISEDIT on the Win7 workstations.

Should there be such a program that installs with the agent? Or is this a
3rd-party tool?
0 Likes
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: ZISEDIT ?

DE;2348701 wrote:
CCPS wrote:
> I don't know about the 11.2x agent but I can say that the 11.2.3a agent
> had serious cache corruption issues. I have also experienced the "user
> is only shown as associated with their prior system" from a repurposed
> computer. In my case it would be caused by the tech forgetting to do
> zisedit -r before re imaging to get rid of the image safe info.


.... I thought I'd missed something here. We've been using ZISWIN; I don't
have an executable called ZISEDIT on the Win7 workstations.

Should there be such a program that installs with the agent? Or is this a
3rd-party tool?


ziswin.exe is what the agent installs onto the c:\program files\novell\zenworks\bin\preboot

zisedit is what you would run from the ZCM Linux Boot CD (or PXE booting with the linux code).

If memory serves me correctly.

--Kevin
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.