Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.
3368 views

No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Hi,

I have: XPSp3, latest patches, ZCM11 appliance (ZCM only, no Patch
Managment, no Endpoint Security Managment) NWclient 4.91 SP5,
authenticated to edirectory (NW 6.5) *and* Windows 2003 domain.
Usersoure in ZCM is the edirectory.

When I first start my machine in the morning, the user isn't authenticated
to ZCM (no user-bundles seen, "login" in the Agent available).
If I logout (not reboot) on my workstation and login again (ctrl-alt-del),
the user is authenticated to ZCM (userbundles available, "logout" in the
Agent available).
How can I change that, so the user is authenticated on WS-Start?

thanks
Philipp
Labels (2)
0 Likes
15 Replies
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Hi Philipp

Is it only on your workstation you experiences this?
You normaly just login and then the client "auto logins" to ZCM, right?
And you are logged in and authenticated to eDir?

/Niels

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Did you test the Cumulative Agent Patch that is available on
download.novell.com?

I suspect this may resolve your issue.

I suspect your device is starting in the "*UNKNOWN*" location and that
location does not have any authentication servers and after a refresh
the correct location is found and logins are allowed.

The cumulative patch is designed to help you get your location correctly
on boot.

On 4/6/2011 10:24 AM, Philipp Fladenhofer wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I have: XPSp3, latest patches, ZCM11 appliance (ZCM only, no Patch
> Managment, no Endpoint Security Managment) NWclient 4.91 SP5,
> authenticated to edirectory (NW 6.5) *and* Windows 2003 domain.
> Usersoure in ZCM is the edirectory.
>
> When I first start my machine in the morning, the user isn't authenticated
> to ZCM (no user-bundles seen, "login" in the Agent available).
> If I logout (not reboot) on my workstation and login again (ctrl-alt-del),
> the user is authenticated to ZCM (userbundles available, "logout" in the
> Agent available).
> How can I change that, so the user is authenticated on WS-Start?
>
> thanks
> Philipp



--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Actually I have the "*UNKNOWN*" location issue, but only on some of our workstations.

I'll look at the patch.

Thanks.

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
dominicm Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Hi everyone,

I have the same issue, and already post a message on this issue a few months ago.... Right now, we have win7, novell client Ir6, and zen agent 11.0.0.41501 (patches with latest fix). When I boot, I log to novell eDir, after that, it asking me the workstation login, and after, it asking me the Zenworks login. Don't want clients to enter a second login so, zen agent MUST sync with novell client. I have the UNKNOWN location.

If a configure a AUTOLOGIN to workstation, ZCM agent will auto-sync with my novell credentials.... But are we forced to do a autologin to workstation absolutely to allow sync or DLU ?

The way ZCM agent sync with novell client is not evident and clear..... what is the correct procedure?

thank you for your support...
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Do you use group policies? Maby that's the way to go?

I'm not guiet sure about the procedure either 😉

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
dominicm Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

if I use group policies, I'm forced to use DLU and DLU will eventually erase the existing profile on the machine: printers preferences and other client preferences.....
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Eventually erase it? Isn't there a way to keep your profile settings in the GPO?

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
dominicm Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

you mean passing by a GPO policy instead of the DLU policy of zcm ?
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Well actually i'm not sure how it works in a alone eDir environment, so not quiet sure if it is possible.
It is the "Cache Volatile User for time period" you refer to, right? I thought it was days after last login, im I wrong? (would not be the first time 😉 )

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
dominicm Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

is it's the cache volatile time period... and yes, max of 999 days , it gives more than 2 years to save the existing profile. after, all preferences are erased...
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Okay - yep, is that a problem? Sorry i'm asking, maby I read wrong earlier 😉

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Correct, it would be 999 days of non-use of that profile.

On 4/15/2011 11:06 AM, nop1983 wrote:
>
> Well actually i'm not sure how it works in a alone eDir environment, so
> not quiet sure if it is possible.
> It is the "Cache Volatile User for time period" you refer to, right? I
> thought it was days after last login, im I wrong? (would not be the
> first time 😉 )
>
>



--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.
0 Likes
nop19832 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

Craig,

Okay, thanks for clarifying it for me. Was what I thought 😉

-- Niels I have always liked... Cowabunga! If you find this post helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking on the star below. A member must be logged in before s/he can assign reputation points.
0 Likes
dominicm Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: No ZCM-Login on workstation start

I will check the gpo options about it and come back later
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.