sflegnc Absent Member.
Absent Member.
591 views

System update baseline

I am having an issue where I have been deploying the agent 11.2 from 11.1 for several months and I have the following issues:

There are some machines that have already had the 11.2 agent prior to system update, the console it shows up as update has been assigned even though it's at the appropriate deployed version and should be completed.
There are some machines that do not have the 11.2 agent and it has not deployed to that machine at all.
In this particular case I suspect that some machines are no longer in service. I have marked the machine to ignore the deployment but there is no change in ignoring the particular machine to ultimately get the update to the baseline state.


I was wondering the following:
What are my options to ignore the machines that have not been recognized as updated so I can baseline the update?
When a machine is no longer connected to the network and has been retired should I delete the machine from the zone or retire with the understanding it will never connect to the zone again?
Is refreshing the best option to get the 11.2 agent to a machine that has not been updated yet or should the machine be unregistered then registered again for the agent to properly automatically deploy?
Labels (2)
0 Likes
1 Reply
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

Re: System update baseline

sflegnc;2254937 wrote:
I am having an issue where I have been deploying the agent 11.2 from 11.1 for several months and I have the following issues:

There are some machines that have already had the 11.2 agent prior to system update, the console it shows up as update has been assigned even though it's at the appropriate deployed version and should be completed.
There are some machines that do not have the 11.2 agent and it has not deployed to that machine at all.
In this particular case I suspect that some machines are no longer in service. I have marked the machine to ignore the deployment but there is no change in ignoring the particular machine to ultimately get the update to the baseline state.


I was wondering the following:
What are my options to ignore the machines that have not been recognized as updated so I can baseline the update?
When a machine is no longer connected to the network and has been retired should I delete the machine from the zone or retire with the understanding it will never connect to the zone again?
Is refreshing the best option to get the 11.2 agent to a machine that has not been updated yet or should the machine be unregistered then registered again for the agent to properly automatically deploy?


Your first question depends on why the machine isn't being recognized. If it's a machine that's not been on the network for sometime, then I usually just delete the device. If it's a real/valid workstation and later comes back on the network, it'll re-register itself (we have laptop users that do this, unfortunately).

I don't believe your second question (theory) is correct. Granted, I don't retire the device and then delete it, I just delete it. When the device is brought back on our network, it re-registers/logs in just fine.

The last one is how things should normally work. When the ZAA refreshes (default 5-6 minutes after startup and then again at like 2 hours later or something--maybe be longer I don't remember what the DEFAULT is), it should see that the System Update is assigned and run the Update. This assumes that the update is assigned, of course.

Unregistered/re-regstering SHOULDn't affect anything unless the agent is broken somehow and not talking properly. In that case, I usually just remove the agent and reinstall the latest version anyway.

--Kevin
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.