Having problems with your account or logging in?
A lot of changes are happening in the community right now. Some may affect you. READ MORE HERE
Yokki Valued Contributor.
Valued Contributor.

CM 9.3 filename truncation using drag and drop

Folks,  I'm a newby here but I'm an experienced IT professional.  Using CM 9.3 to drag and drop files out of CM into the Windows 10 filesystem, I'm seeing filenames longer than 66 characters being truncated, and a '~' inserted in the middle to replace removed characters.  Total file path length is of the order of 130 characters, so I'm not hitting any Windows limits.  It's also consistent when I use sub-folders (ie. lengthen the path, but the filename change is the same). 

We recently updated from a fairly old Trim installation and I never saw this happen with that, so I'm convinced that this must be some sort of configuration setting in the new CM environment.  Our corporate CM support folks don't seem to want to acknowledge that this is an issue, which is why I'm seeking some advice here.

Is there some configuration setting somewhere which controls the maximum length of filenames created via a drag/drop operation?  If so, what is it called and where does it live?  If not, are there any ideas which may explain what I'm seeing?

Thanks for any and all help

Joachim Mika / PTV Melbourne Australia.

Tags (1)
0 Likes
9 Replies
JanMartin Outstanding Contributor.
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: CM 9.3 filename truncation using drag and drop

CM will generate a "suggested file name" based on the title and this is apparently limited to 64 characters. It may have been introduced since your previous version, probably to resolve errors caused by paths being too long.

As far as I am aware there is no way to change this via configuration...

Valued Contributor.