UPDATE! The community will be go into read-only on April 19, 8am Pacific in preparation for migration on April 21. Read more.
UPDATE! The community will be go into read-only on April 19, 8am Pacific in preparation for migration on April 21.Read more.
Knowledge Partner Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner
64 views

Issue when upgrading from 8.3.2 to CM 9.4.0 then 9.4.2 and then hotfix 6

CM 9.4.2 (Build 635) 

Warning:

This is the error that some our users got when trying to save the documents to TRIM. 

Nothing indicates what could be the error here. 

Thinking "outside of the box" and checking what TRIM Version the user is ON, indicated that the user was on not correct CM Version, the user was still on 9.4.2 (Build 602) Client not on the hotfix 6, (Not on 9.4.2, Hotfix 6 build 635) and user was connecting to a higher TRIM Server version 

fortrimforumwrongversiond.jpg

The user obviously logged on to the PC after the first or the second forced re-boots, so exactly in the wrong moment when the  9.4.0 or 9.4.2 version is installed, not the hotfix 6 for that patch 2. 

The deployment script was obviously trying to update user's version to the Hotfix 6 but when the script checked the user's installed version of e.g. 9.4.2, then the script realised that the Product ID is the same number, so it didn't installed the hotfix... 

So somehow it happened that we didn't have the  update the product ID with each patch or hotfix.

Therefore CM 9.4.2.341 is considered the same product as CM 9.4.2.602 and CM 9.4.2.635 by SMS, so when it comes time to install SMS cannot tell if the base, hotfix or patched version is installed.

To work around this problem we had to put an uninstall script into the deployment to remove all traces of CM 9.4.2.xxx and then reinstall in the correct order of CM 9.4.2.341 – 9.4.2.602 – 9.4.2.635.

Normally when we do an early deployment the “ALL workstations” deployment can identify that the application is already installed and bypass the second deployment but SMS could not do this for CM 9.4.2 for the reason above so we had to rerun the deployment on ALL machines to try and guarantee a successful installation.

SO, no question here, just a warning for those who intend to do the upgrade as we did. 

All good .

Thanks

0 Likes
0 Replies
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.