Having problems with your account or logging in?
A lot of changes are happening in the community right now. Some may affect you. READ MORE HERE
JackMorgan Contributor.
Contributor.

Unable to check-in a document - needs to be forced in

Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie. :-)

We are using RM8.3 and some users frequently have issues where they are unable to check a document back in and need the Administrator to force check it in. What are some of the reasons why this would happen?

Thanks

Jack

0 Likes
6 Replies
Jamie Smith Respected Contributor.
Respected Contributor.

Re: Unable to check-in a document - needs to be forced in

Hi Jack, look at the 'Checked Out To' and 'Checked Out Path' properties of the record.  Normal users won't be able to check in a record if their name doesn't match the name in 'Checked Out To'.

What interface are the users using to check records back in?  The FAT desktop client typically won't let a normal user check in a record that isn't checked out to a local file or offline records, or if the 'Checked Out Path' is something unrecognisable.

0 Likes
HeatherM1 Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

We had this a LOT in TRIM v7.3.3, usually when users checked the document out via Edit and kept the document open in its native application for hours. I tended to advise the users to only use Edit for very quick updates, and Check Out / Check In if they were going to have the document open for a long time.

I think the issue was compounded to some extent by the fact that the users' Offline Records folders were on a shared network drive, rather than a local folder on the individual's PC, and whenever there was a slight network interruption, it seemed to cause TRIM to forget that the document was checked out for that user.   

We also found that users  needed to completely close the authoring application i.e. have no other documents remaining open for the handover to TRIM to occur and for the documents to check back in successfully.