Our vBulletin migration is complete.
Welcome vBulletin users! All content and user information from the Micro Focus Forums (vBulletin) site has been migrated to this site. READ MORE.
dboyr Contributor.
Contributor.

How can I automate the backup job creation in order to add 100 backups using a script and not GUI?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Data Protector, but I've been using Tivoli storage manager (tdpo client) and StoreOnce.

I managed to create backups using GUI, but I have to migrate a fair amount of databases to DP.

Is there a way to create backup definition automatically using a script instead of clicking next next next through GUI?

Thanks,

Daniel

0 Likes
4 Replies
Jenni_S Outstanding Contributor.
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: How can I automate the backup job creation in order to add 100 backups using a script and not GU

When you say database backups do you mean DP Integration? If yes there are 2 stages to the backup creation, the integration config file (so DP knows how to connect to the application) and the integration barlist (the backup).

You can script the integ config file configuration but not the barlist itself.

The barlists are simply flat files so provided you understand the syntax you can create the backup via the flat file rather than via the GUI and you can script this using any shell that can manipulate flat files.

So in short yes this can be scripted / automated but not fully within the data protector command line.

If you don't like the sound of that maybe take a look at backup templates? That allows you to apply generic information to multiple backups like device / pool / retention. But this depends on what type of integration you are gonna use.

Integ Config fles are saved to <omnihome>\Config\Server\Integ\Config\<integ type> or /etc/opt/omni/server/integ/config/<integ type>

Barlists are saved to <omnihome>\Config\Server\Barlists\<integ type> or /etc/opt/omni/server/barlists/<integ type>