Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

AcuXDBC and Crystal Reports

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 05 March 2012]

Hi All,

I am new to Crytal Reports so I could be missing something elementary.

I am trying to write a Crystal REport Application that reads my vision data using AcuXDBC. I have created the data source. I have created the crystal report in Visual Studio 2008 and I am able to connect to the data source. I can add the tables and I am able to view the data when I preview in Visual Studio. The problem arises when I try to run or publish the application. The screen comes up for me to logon to the data source, but once I enter the logon information (user name and password) I get an error stating that the Logon failed.

Can anybody help - please ?

Thank you.

Medasha
0 Likes
9 Replies
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: AcuXDBC and Crystal Reports

Did you create a File DSN (Data Source Name) or a System DSN?
When you create the DSN, did you enter the login and password (Windows default login: system Password: manager)?
You can also turn on tracing and the log file may be helpful.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Hi,

Yes - I have entered the user name (system) and password (manager) when creating the system DSN. I also trying creating the data source as a user dsn. The problem persists. Ispecified a log file but the file is not being created when I get the error.

Any further help will be appreciated.

Thank you.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Are you able to view / import the data in Excel or Access?
0 Likes
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

You can also try and connect with odbcsql.bat which connects through the odbc layer. Use your System DSN and you could also try "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\MSQRY32.EXE" if you have office installed.

See if another application can query the data.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.