Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
Riaan1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

CALL "pgm" USING BY DESCRIPTOR

Busy with ACUCOBOL conversion to Visual COBOL. Using the ACU2VCOB tool

First, I'm not a ACU expert. So please bear with me.

In the original ACUCOBOL source I got these statements

CALL "LIB$GET_SYMBOL" USING BY DESCRIPTOR "USER_ID"
                                                     W5-USERNAME.

I do not find information on the DESCRIPTOR keyword. Neither in the helpfiles given with these tools and not in the Supportline.

Plus. what should this be changed to to be able to run under Visual COBOL? 

Lastly, is there a specific ACUCOBOL to Visual COBOL conversion discussion group in this forum?

0 Likes
2 Replies
lhebblethwaite Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: CALL "pgm" USING BY DESCRIPTOR

Riaan,

The DESCRIPTOR keyword is OpenVMS specific. It is an argument passing mechanism that has no equivalent in Windows or UNIX/Linux. The "LIB$GET_SYMBOL" is an OpenVMS standard runtime library call. Many OpenVMS system service calls require arguments to be passed by DESCRIPTOR. A descriptor is a small structure that encodes the location, length, and other attributes of the argument.

The company I work for, Transoft (now part of Advanced Computer Software in the UK), supply libraries that provide OpenVMS functionality on Windows and UNIX/Linux.

Another attribute of OpenVMS library calls is that they allow arguments to be omitted.

Using the Transoft libraries the call you mention would be changed to:

CALL "LIB_GET_SYMBOL" USING

CONTENT "USER_ID" *> Symbol name

REFERENCE W5-USERNAME *> Buffer for result

VALUE 0 *> Omitted argument

VALUE 0 *> Omitted argument

VALUE 7. *> Length of argument 1