Highlighted
Visitor.

Docuware with .NET

Does anyone have experience with the connection of extend and MS-Docuware via .NET?
I would like to physically download documents from Docuware.
With netdefgen I do not really get on with it because generating the copy modules produces errors.
And of course I have no experience with .NET.

0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted
New Member.

RE: Docuware with .NET

I do not have experience with Docuware, but I do have experience wtih .NET and NetDefGen giving errors. This is my specific situation, which may or may not be like yours, but may help you with troubleshooting.

My NET program uses a 3rd party grid component, which is available in a few DLLs. The 3rd party company offers their products for NET Framework 2.0 and Framework 4.0, which show up in separate categories in the Toolbox in Visual Studio. Some components and features are available in 4.0 and not in 2.0, but I believe that most of the components use exactly the same class names between the versions. The only difference is that the DLL names contain the Framework version--<componentName>.4.dll or <componentName>.2.dll.

When I run my program through NetDefGen, I get errors. I spent several days going back and forth with Support before we got the situation resolved. First, the copy module was generated correctly. There was no issue with that. The error was coming from the second part of the process, which was generating the events module. NetDefGen executes ilasm.exe to produce the events DLL, and that's what was generating the error. And the error was because the components from the 3rd party component were being accessed using their file name, which contains the Framework version but which is not part of the class name. Islasm.exe does not know how to resolve that, so it returns an error, which is then output by NetDefGen. Support suggested that I run ilasm.exe manually (from the command line), and I have success doing that.