andymca24 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

MS WORD BOOKMARKS

Hi,

I have created a few bookmarks in multiple word docs. I am trying to locate and insert text after the bookmarks, I have that part working. My problem is that I want to look thru the document first to see if the bookmark actually exists. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Likes
4 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: MS WORD BOOKMARKS

You'd have to verify that this is defined in your Word def file, however it appears there is a method or property ..ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Exists(strFileName) where strFileName is the name of the bookmark you are searching for.

0 Likes
andymca24 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Hi,

Thanks for your help. I do see that it is the word.def file. Any ideas on how I can set up the cobol syntax for tha to check the returned boolean value. I am just getting started on using this for Word files.

Thanks

0 Likes
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

I believe you would use Inquire and the returned boolean indicates whether the bookmark exists or not. What I did was a google search on VB Word searching for bookmarks .. and this article looked promising ... vbadud.blogspot.com/.../check-existence-of-bookmark-using-vba.html

0 Likes
andymca24 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

This looks like what I am looking for, any idea s as to what the cobol coding would be, the name of the bookmark I am looking for is "PolicyNumber". Thank you for the help.

0 Likes