Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
Cbourque_gts-genesis Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Printing 16 CPI

Jump to solution

I am a long time Cobol programmer but new to MicoFocus.  I am trying to get a report to print 176 characters on letter paper (16 cpi) without bypassing the windows print driver.  I have looked through the documentation but I just can not get it to work.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DougP Outstanding Contributor.
Outstanding Contributor.

RE: Printing 16 CPI

Jump to solution

The attached sample program demonstrates 150 characters per line printing.  Modify it to load a different font that will provide 176 characters per line.  You might need to experiment with which font and size will give what you need.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
5 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Jump to solution

Are you using Micro Focus Visual COBOL, or Net Express, or are you using Extend, as in extend 9 or extend 10? Are you embedding your own control codes? Can you provide a small example of what you are doing. With Extend .. you can under Windows, you may print directly to the printer by defining PRINTER in the configuration file as "-D PRN or use "-P SPOOLER". If you want to control the format of the printout yourself using embedded control codes, simply assign your print file to "-P SPOOLER-DIRECT" . There seems to have been some changes to Windows 10 involving the spooler, so you might want to tell us where (what Windows systems ) you're trying to print on.

0 Likes
Absent Member.

Jump to solution