Welcome Serena Central users! CLICK HERE
The migration of the Serena Central community is currently underway. Be sure to read THIS MESSAGE to get your new login set up to access your account.
davide_stfc Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Hello, I'm relatively new to the world of AcuCOBOL.

I'm working on multi-thread programs (on Windows machine) and I was not able to understand the resulting behavior. So I have a couple of questions.

Does the runtime really create different system-threads for every COBOL-threads calls ?

If I have a cpu-intensive thread, does the runtime give in any case some resources to the other threads or I need to slow-down the first one (i.e. adding explicit sleep instructions) ?

Thanks

Tags (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: Thread

Jump to solution

Threading has been available in Acu for sometime, it is a proprietary implementation. However, the runtime is not a thread-safe executable and this is one of the reasons that Acu hasn't been able to leverage O/S that do provide multi-threading like Hyper-V. If you can de-couple the programs that perform a huge amount of delete on three different files ... perhaps you can run them using C$SYSTEM or C$RUN or use AcuConnect Distributed processing to run these file intensive programs while the GUI program continues to run as well.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
13 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Jump to solution