Highlighted
Micro Focus Contributor
Micro Focus Contributor

Welcome message

Hi all,

I’m Dominique SACRE, Product Director for extend - ACUCOBOL-GT and RM/COBOL product lines.

It is my greatest pleasure to welcome all of you joining us for this extend - ACUCOBOL-GT Forum, a part of the Micro Focus COBOL forum.

Please feel free to ask questions about any topic which is related to extend line of products and ACUCOBOL-GT.

We will do our very best to provide you with answers to your questions.

Best regards,

Dominique

0 Likes
3 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: Welcome message

Hello Dominique,

Thank you for your warm welcome to me in joining this site.

Having transferred over to the new Microfocus website, I am still finding my way around. I have been using ACUCOBOL for about 5 years and like mainframe COBOL, there is still plenty in there to explore.

Yesterday I posted a query for any or all of the members who may be able to assiste. I have been asked to investigate whether it is possible through ACUCOBOL to create barcodes for use in document scanners. I have read some books in other languages which suggest how it may be done.

I have scoured the ACUCOBOL manuals but as yet have not come across any material covering the creation of barcodes. I will keep searching.

I did think that if I found a mechanism in another language, there may be a way to adapt a result.

I should let you know that at the moment we are using ACUCUBOL version 5.2, and have a vast task in converting to the latest version which I think is Version 8.3.

I look forward to keeping in contact with you and the membership.

Yours sincerely

Geoffrey Hashman

0 Likes
Highlighted
Micro Focus Contributor
Micro Focus Contributor

Hello Geoffrey,

We are looking for samples for you. The best way is to find a barcode font and to use it to print.

You can alco use XML extensions (version 9.0 min) to do it.

Btw the latest version is 9.1.2.

Regards,

Dominique

0 Likes