Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

[archive] API SetWindowPos

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 15 November 2005]

Have anyone experience with SetWindowPos?

we need to set a window On Top until it's closed. I figured out that this could be handled with SetWindowPos from user32.dll.

But i have no experience with Api-Calls.

I found in MSDN this link:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/winui/winui/windowsuserinterface/windowing/windows/windowreference/windowfunctions/setwindowpos.asp

BOOL SetWindowPos(          HWND hWnd,
    HWND hWndInsertAfter,
    int X,
    int Y,
    int cx,
    int cy,
    UINT uFlags
);

hWnd - [in] Handle to the window.
is this the window handle which i will set to top? can i put there for example the handle from cobol for the window?

I mean for example:

77  main-window                           handle of window.

call "SetWindowPos" using
                by value main-window
                by value ...
                by value ...
                by value ...
                by value ...
                by value ...
                by value ...
           end-call.

hWndInsertAfter
[in] Handle to the window to precede the positioned window in the Z order. This parameter must be a window handle or one of the following values.

where can i get the value for hWndInsertAfter?
or is it something like
1 for HWND_BOTTOM
2 for HWND_NOTOPMOST
3 for HWND_TOP
4 for HWND_TOPMOST
this?

have anyone a tip for me how i can figure out the values for it?

Thanks,
David
0 Likes
6 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: [archive] API SetWindowPos

Originally posted by Frosti
Have anyone experience with SetWindowPos?

we need to set a window On Top until it's closed. I figured out that this could be handled with SetWindowPos from user32.dll.