Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

[archive] Calling .dll via Thin Client -completely lost

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 03 August 2006]

Hello,

If I have understood correctly it is possible to call Windows DLLs on the client side (from applications located on a Linux-server) through TC.

I have no experience whatsoever about C-data types or Windows API or .dlls, but since I have been fiddling with Thin Client lately, I gave it a try just for the heck of it.

I thought it would be wise to start with something simple, like placing some text on the clipboard. Now I have been stuck with this for days, and have no idea where I'm going wrong but I have a strong feeling it's something fundamental. It would be no surprise since I'm wondering on a totally strange territory.

It seems to me, that the call to memcpy isn't getting anything done. All I can get to the clipboard is a few symbols, it doesn't matter if I call memcpy or not.

Could somebody here give me a few pointers to guide me to the right direction? Or maybe handles???

Sample code as an attachment...
0 Likes
13 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: [archive] Calling .dll via Thin Client -completely lost

I would not say you picked the easiest example... Dealing with external memory allocation is rather complex in itself, using it with Thin Client makes it no easier.

For testing DLL in the context of Thin Client, I would rather suggest you try use the function GetSystemMetrics (see msdn for all that this function can do).

Let us say you would like to check how many buttons the mouse have:

77 nIndex PIC X(4) COMP-N.
77 NoOfButtons PIC X(4) COMP-N.
PROCEDURE ...
CALL "@[DISPLAY]:USER32.DLL@WINAPI".
MOVE 43 TO nIndex.
CALL "GetSystemMetrics" USING
BY VALUE nIndex GIVING NoOfButtons.
CANCEL "USER32.DLL".
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Hi Gisle,