Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

[archive] Scm

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 16 May 2003]

Anyone interested in starting a discussion on SCM products and the pluses and minuses you may have experienced? I've been using PVCS for a few years now but I have been going back and forth with setting it up using the acubench. Anybody have any experiences with this?

Ted
0 Likes
13 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: [archive] Scm

I'm new to AcuBench, am trying to use it with cvs (see new thread I just posted). I've used cvs successfully with other IDE's (specifically eclipse) and am hopeful we can integrate it with AcuBench - can't beat the price!
Mark
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

We are using CVS on a Linux machine with CVSweb as a great repository browsing tool. It can show all current and previous versions of your files and also has the ability to show colored diffs between versions.

We haven't integrated it in Acubench, but we don't need to because the only things we store in the repository are .psf en .cbl files and we have all kinds of shell scripts to help us getting files out of the repository and to commit them again. We also use different branches to help us maintain more the one release of our product (changes in the working version are automaticilly merged in de developing version).

I think CVS is a great tool, and above all: it's FREE. And that's a feature Dutch people like the most 😄
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I highly suggest using cvs. As I stated in mark's other cvs post I think getting source control to work from within the IDE itself is overrated. There are some very powerful client side tools with specialized dialogs that can do the same thing.