Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

[archive] code sample for W2 form

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 25 November 2004]

I was wondering if anyone out there has sample code of formatting a W2 form, either the 2-up preprinted form, or the 4 up form that prints on blank paper. I am inexperienced using the Win$printer capabilities of columns, fonts, ete, but I see where this would be great for a form like this, if the programmer gave the operator ability to shift the form slightly for better alignment.
0 Likes
3 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: [archive] code sample for W2 form

I have no experiences with the W2 form in particular. But in general I would say, filling a preprinted form is best done on a individual field by field basis.
To accomplish this, you should use the WINPRINT-SET-CURSOR opcode with absolute coordinates in inches. This will ensure your print comes at the same position regardless of the printer you use.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I have been trying to print on a form, the new 941, and I am trying to use the WPRTUNITS-CENTIMETERS-ABS to make sure that the text prints the same on all printers. However, when I execute the following code on different printers, my text ends up printing in different locations. Its generally only off about 1 character, on some printers its higher and others is over to the right and others is down 1 and over to the left.

INITIALIZE WPRTDATA-DRAW.
MOVE 5 TO WPRTDATA-DRAW-START-X.
MOVE 5 TO WPRTDATA-DRAW-START-Y.
MOVE WPRTUNITS-CENTIMETERS-ABS TO WPRTDATA-DRAW-DNITS
CALL "WIN$PRINTER" USING WINPRINT-SET-CURSOR WINPRINT-DATA GIVING
PR-CALL-RESULT
MOVE EIN-1 TO PRINT-REC
WRITE PRINT-REC BEFORE ADVANCING 0 LINES

I have printed on an Hp2100(pcl6), Hp2420(pcl6), Hp 6p(pcl5) and Hp4600(pcl6) and my text is in different locations on each of these printers.

I'm setting the font WPRTFONT-COURIER-12-COMP and using version 6.1.0 of the runtime.