Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

[archive] escape key

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 24 June 2005]

How do I program a screen so they can't use the escape key to get out of the screen? Help!!!
0 Likes
11 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: [archive] escape key

Diana,

You might have to give a little bit more information so we can help you.

When you say 'screen' do you mean a character-based screen section screen? Or do you mean a graphical window? If it is the latter, is it a popup message box or dialog or a standard window?

What are you ACCEPTing? In the character-based environment you should be able to stop virtually anything to do with Escape.

In the graphical environment it depends if you have a CANCEL-BUTTTON defined for any of your push buttons.

Maybe a short code sample can help us identify your problem.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

I am sorry, I guess when I posted I was just flustrated. I am new to AcuCobol and I am using AcuBench so it is a graphical screen and no I don't have any cancel button on the screen. I have a menu item to logoff properly. I have programmed around everything else but the escape. The window type is standard. In my config file I have quit-mode = to a -2 to get rid of the X.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Ahhh! AcuBench. OK!

We are Cobol old-timers so we never liked Acubench.

Looks like you will have to get your hands dirty and look at the code that AcuBench generates (something you will be doing a lot of!)

Have a look at program_name.evt which contains all the event stuff. There are a few paragraphs in there that might have the escape key code. Look at:
"Acu-screen_name-event"
"Screen-screen_name-event-rtn"
"Screen-screen_name-except-rtn"

Screens don't inherently exit with escape. They have to be programmed to do that. So something in the code that AcuBench has generated has added this 'feature'.