Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

[archive] modernized user interface

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 02 September 2008]

I am looking for general, not technical advice. I have been an Acucobol user since the beginning, converted to the gui in the late 1990's. I attended a few acucorp classes but bascially self-taught. I think my application looks pretty good but I am ready for my third rewrite to make the interface more "window like" as I still get "Is this a windows program?" from some users. I use all the controls, grids, some active-x, etc. As an example my screens were designed to look good for the 800 x 600 resolutions but as screen sizes and resolution settings grow, not so good.
How should I proceed? I would like a consultant to take a look at my screens, etc and make suggestions. Someone up to date with the latest Acucorp release. Or should I wait until the "meld" version arrives? All opinions welcome.
0 Likes
13 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: [archive] modernized user interface

What font do you use? If you do not use small-font (MS Sans Serif), try to change this. Will make a big difference. You are likely to have to reposition your items on the dialog, but it is worth it.
Do you make use of extensive colors? Don't. Use Windows default.
As of 8.1, there is also more extensive use of Vista styles, which can be enabled by setting a configuration variable.
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Why not post a screen dump of your most common program on here?
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Here are some typical screens. The look good on 800 x 640 but if used on workstations with higher resolutions, do not fill the screen,
0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Your dialogs are a bit crowded. As such increased resolution will be just for the good, allowing you to give some air to your data.