Ian-M Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.
659 views

Deleted users in Search Index, Personal Workspace

On our Filr system, if we go to Search Index in the Admin interface, then, on the Manage Search Index tab, we expand Personal Workspaces & then expand one of the sections in there, we see a whole lot of old users listed as Deleted - eg:

Test Senior (Deleted 05-04-2016 9-00 PM 1459890017110) (deleted 05-04-2016 9-00 pm 1459890017110)

You can then expand those entries & see the deleted user's folders that were in their home directories (which are now deleted, in some cases years ago).
Not all deleted users show up and we have just recently run a full re-index of them, but they still appear there.

Just wondering if it's normal for those entries to be there? We assume that means all that data is still stored in the index, so it's making it larger that it ought to be!

Cheers,
Ian
0 Likes
2 Replies
BSCHOOFS1 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Re: Deleted users in Search Index, Personal Workspace


It all depends on how the users were deleted.

By Default, just the user is deleted, and their workspace is left alone.

You can opt to delete the users and alongside delete their workspaces too, this will also clear their entries in the ad-hoc area (if enabled) and their places in the index.



Kind Regards,

Bart.



>>> imoore<imoore@no-mx.forums.microfocus.com> 22/02/2019 00:24 >>>







On our Filr system, if we go to Search Index in the Admin interface,

then, on the Manage Search Index tab, we expand Personal Workspaces &

then expand one of the sections in there, we see a whole lot of old

users listed as Deleted - eg:




*Test Senior (Deleted 05-04-2016 9-00 PM 1459890017110) (deleted

05-04-2016 9-00 pm 1459890017110)*




You can then expand those entries & see the deleted user's folders that

were in their home directories (which are now deleted, in some cases

years ago).

Not all deleted users show up and we have just recently run a full

re-index of them, but they still appear there.




Just wondering if it's normal for those entries to be there? We assume

that means all that data is still stored in the index, so it's making it

larger that it ought to be!




Cheers,

Ian







--

imoore

------------------------------------------------------------------------
imoore's Profile: https://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=932


View this thread: https://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=511412
0 Likes
Ian-M Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Re: Deleted users in Search Index, Personal Workspace

That's what I thought was the case. All our users are synced from eDirectory, so we delete the user in eDir.
In Filr's LDAP settings, in the For user accounts provisioned from LDAP that are no longer in LDAP section, we have
Delete account and Also delete associated user workspaces and content selected.

So that ought to delete the users entirely!

Cheers,
Ian
0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.